The Obvious Interview Question

When going into an interview, it is very important to intimately know the company. An interviewer can ask a multitude of questions that will determine if you have done your homework or not. One of these common questions is this: “Why are you interested in this company?” Andrea Rice, a respected career blogger says that people generally make one of these two classic mistakes;

“1)    They give generic answers that communicate I haven’t done my homework and don’t know how you differ from your competition; and

2)    They don’t tie the differentiating features about the company to their own strengths or interests.”

She gives two different examples of answering this question, one generic, and the other a solid answer.

“Karen; “Widget Inc. is an exciting emerging leader in the industry. The company attracts really sharp people and has a great reputation for its employee development and culture. I’m sure I would learn a lot at Widget and could make a valuable contribution.

Julia; “I’ve been following Widget Inc for the past 3 years since I first used the company’s product after seeing an ad. Even though the brand wasn’t as well established then, the product was so much faster and more intuitive for a user. I told my friends, and clearly others told theirs. It’s not surprising to me that the company’s market share has doubled to 28% in the past 2 years and international expansion efforts are underway. As you see on my resume, I’ve had multiple opportunities to develop and demonstrate my sales skills in various initiatives over the last few years. I believe I could immediately put those skills to use at Widget.”

Whether you are asked this specific question or not, it is imperative that you communicate accurately your interest in the company without generic, cliche answers.

For Andrea Rice’s full blog post on this subject click here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviewing, Wisdom

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

